Wednesday, October 29, 2008

2008 Dallas ISD Mock Presidential Convention

Yesterday -- Tuesday, October 28 was a great day for memories.

After greeting and talking with Barack Obama and John McCain, I shook hands with President Bush, Hillary Clinton, Rudy Giuliani, Michelle Obama, Cindy McCain, Joe Biden and Sarah Palin.

These face-to-face encounters took place only after our crowd got past the Secret Service, candidate handlers, TV cameras, photographers and one war protester.

And there they were .... Standing before a cheering crowd of 400 red and blue shirted delegates all the way from Alaska to Florida.

We were attending the 2008 Dallas ISD Mock Presidential Convention. Held at Madison High School in Sunny South Dallas -- this was another example of exemplary teaching and learning in Dallas ISD. For planning and execution, it rivaled the other two conventions any exciting school day.

Thanks to the Gifted and Talented for a Better America teachers, along with the Dallas ISD Social Studies Department for their collaboration and commitment. G/T teachers, your dedication, extra hours and creativity paid off for student delegates (youth and adult).

Special Guest - Dallas District Attorney - Craig Watkins

Student Participants

Master of Ceremony - Leslie Young - Nancy Mosley Elementary
I Am An Original - Dalton Sherman - Charles Rice Learning Center
Mayor Rudy Giuliani - Taurean Babcock - Daniel Webster Elementary
Hillary Clinton - Madison Shubert - Nancy Mosley Elementary
President George Bush - Joseph C. Del Bosque - Henry B. Gonzalez Elementary
Michelle Obama - Patricia Osorio - Richard Lagow Elementary
Cindy McCain - Giavanna Ramos-Woten - Rufus C. Burleson Elementary
Senator Joe Biden - Jesnick Garcia - B.H. Macon Elementary
Governor Sarah Palin - Maria Martinez - Henry B. Gonzalez Elementary
Senator Barack Obama - Eric Carter - Daniel Webster Elementary
Senator John McCain - Ezekiel Montemayor - Richard Lagow Elementary
Be A Success - Alan Del Rio - Henry B. Gonzalez Elementary

The student Mock Presidential Election will be held on Thursday.