Tuesday, May 14, 2013

Dallas ISD 2013 Teacher and Teacher Assistant of the Year Awards Program

Five outstanding Dallas ISD teachers and five teacher assistants
were honored at a reception and dinner sponsored by Central Market H-E-B this evening. The celebration was held at the Belo Mansion.

After many deserved accolades and much applause for all ten finalists, the winners were presented:

    Joshua Newton -- 2013 Teacher of the Year     
    School of Science and Engineering
    Yvonne A. Ewell Townview Center

    Rose Davidson  --  2013 Teacher Assistant of the Year
    Dallas Environmental Science Academy

Central Market’s Sr. Vice President Stephen Butt, presented $5,000 to winning teacher Newton.  He says, "I strive to create a diverse learning environment in which students with a variety of learning styles will be successful.  I work to ensure that the at-risk students in my classroom are grouped with students who can help them succeed."
Stephen Butt, Teacher of the Year Joshua Newton and Teacher Assistant of the Year Rose Davidson

The four Teacher of the Year runners-up received $1,000 each.  They are: Paula Cushanick, Albert Sidney Johnston Elementary School, Kevin Grimes, George Bannerman Dealey Montessori, Beth Poquette Drews, Harold Wendell Lang, Sr. Middle School, and Linda Wood, Seagoville Elementary School.

Vice President Butt also presented $1,500 to winning teacher assistant Davidson. She states, " I am determined to find innovative ways to help students overcome the many obstacles and challenges they face.  I love my school.  I love my job!"

Teacher Assistant runners-up received $250 each. They are: Nancy Gonzales, Eladio R. Martinez Learning Center, Betty Martinez, Seagoville Elementary School, Cynthia Nagy, Stonewall Jackson Elementary School, and Michelle Thomas, Charles A. Gill Elementary School.

Cynthia Izaguirre, proud Dallas ISD graduate who co-anchors News 8 Daybreak,was the special guest. After her fond tribute to Dallas ISD teachers, she introduced the honorees.

During the reception, guests enjoyed music by the Seagoville High School Guitar Ensemble, directed by Rodney Ditmar.

The Barrack Obama Male Leadership Academy Jazz Band, Clarence Texada - Director, and Vocal Dimension of W. T. White High School, Michael Parker - Director, provided dinner entertainment.

Demosthenes Sherman, senior at James Madison High School, and Nancy Hernandez, senior at W.T. White High School, were Masters of Ceremonies.

Thanks to the panels of judges -- educators, current and retired administrators, city and community leaders, sponsors, volunteers and parents -- for each phase of the process.

Much appreciation and cheers for all finalists!

Congratulations, Teacher of the Year Joshua Newton and Teacher Assistant of the Year Rose Davidson!