Sunday, May 16, 2010

40 Years of Academic Excellence at Erasmo Seguin

What a celebration - the 40th Anniversary Celebration of  Erasmo Seguin Community Learning Center.

It was a time to congratulate students, former students, parents, grandparents, teachers, staff and friends 
who came to the 40th Anniversary event to enjoy remembering and participating in some Seguin family fun.

Erasmo Seguin has developed four decades of young learners.

The anniversary program included outstanding student performances that inspired us.  They were the: Seguin Choir, Handbell Chorus, Guitar Club, Seguin Dancers and student presenters.

The first principal, Priscilla McGaughey who opened Erasmo Seguin in 1970 and immediate past Principal Marsha Burkley (Kleberg Elementary) also returned to reminisce and tell a few Seguin stories.

Special recognitions, songs and honors went to longest serving teachers Ladora Blaylock (retiring), Clara Hill,  Kay Hocker (retired), Virginia Lyons (retiring) and Helen Scott Mann.  Student reflections also praised these endearing teachers and "Moms."

Erasmo Seguin Community Learning Center can truly boast about its 40 years of instilling academic standards, while building meaningful school and community relations.  It was obvious that-- for present and past students, faculty, staff, principals and parents -- Seguin is a school and a family.

Much appreciation to Chairpersons Chara Pace and Candace Wicks ( 2008-09 Dallas ISD Teacher of the Year) and the Celebration Steering Committee.

Thanks to Alyce Barnes, Patricia Field, Charles Malone, Patrick Williams and the Site-Based Decision Making Committee for 40th Anniversary support.

Congratulations and thanks to Principal Yolanda Thompson, faculty, staff and students.

Celebrate!   Erasmo Seguin Community Learning Center...  You are 40!

You are Exemplary!