Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Dallas ISD celebrates 5 new National Board Certified Teachers

National Board for Professional Teaching Standards
Dallas District Reception

Traditional ginger ale toast
Cheers, celebrations and congratulations flowed throughout the pinning ceremony and reception for five Dallas ISD teachers who recently completed certification requirements of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.

This evening, with big smiles and flowing tears, the following new Dallas ISD National Board Certified Teachers (NBCT), along with admiring colleagues, family members and friends, lifted glasses for the traditional ginger ale toast:

Rhonda Bliss – Arturo Salazar Elementary School
Ignacio Javier – Louise Wolff Kahn Elementary School
Olubukola Olaloko  --  Barack Obama Male Leadership Academy
Tiffanye Lockhart-Oliver – Harrell Budd Elementary School
Iheanacho  Orabuchi, Ph.D. --  L. L. Hotchkiss Elementary School

Dr. Martin Osae, one of two of the first Dallas ISD National Board Certified Teachers, spoke to honorees about “Being a Dallas ISD NBCT.” Here is a summary of his inspiring 5 Point Charge: 

1.     You are in a place of influence.  Use it.

2.     You are a catalyst for change.  Be it.

3.     You are a voice for accomplished teaching and best practice.  Speak it.

4.     You are a commitment to duplicating yourself. Do it.

5.     You are an infection of DNA for accomplished teaching.  Spread it.    
Rhonda  Bliss, National Board Certified Teacher

These new certifications give Dallas ISD a total of 23 National Board Certified Teachers.  This accomplishment is not easy, but with support, resources, encouragement, as well as lots of sweat and some tears, it can be done. 

Tiffanye Lockhart-Oliver, National Board Certified Teacher
National Board Certified Teachers Karen Barnes, Christine Koski and a team of NBCTs planned and sponsored the ceremony.

Dr. Iheanacho Orabuchi, National Board Certified Teacher

Congratulations Ms. Bliss, Mr. Javier, Mrs. Olaloko, Mrs. Lockhart-Oliver and Dr. Orabuchi.  “We’re proud of you.”

Ignacio Javier, National Board Certified Teacher

Olubukola Olalodo, National Board Certified Teacher