Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Board of Directors of Texas Association of School Boards

The Delegate Assembly of the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) met Saturday, September 25, 2010 during the 50th Annual Conference of trustees and administrators.

Board members appointed from TASB Active Members, the TASB Board and the four Legislative Advisory Council members of the TASB Legislative Committee --all make up the Delegate Assembly.

This state body determines the direction the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) will take in terms of leadership and interaction with state and federal officials and with other organizations. The Delegate Assembly also elects the Board of Directors of the Texas Association of School Boards.

There are 44 Directors, representing TASB's 20 geographical/Education Service Center regions, as well as their own school district boards.

Article VI, Section 3, of the TASB Bylaws empowers the TASB Board of Directors to actively promote the purposes of the Association, oversee its fiscal affairs, and establish Board policies. Some of the specific duties of the Board include employing the Executive Director, adopting the TASB strategic plan, approving new programs and services, monitoring ongoing service offerings, adopting the annual association budget, and recommending action to the Delegate Assembly.

Having been elected by Trustees on June 24,2010, to represent Dallas ISD, I was confirmed as a new Texas Association of School Boards Director at the convention this past weekend.

Thanks to TASB Immediate Past President Sarah Winkler, President Sylveser E.Vasquez, Jr. and the Directors  for their welcome.

I look forward to the opportunity to serve public school students, teachers and citizens at the state level.

Thanks to the Dallas ISD Trustees who supported my nomination and the TASB Delegate Assembly.

I look forward to representing Region 10C for the 2010-2013 term in Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) public service.